Alabama Alcohol Laws
Under Alabama law, a person can be arrested for DUI if their blood alcohol content is higher than the state’s legal limit of .08%. This is a “per se” violation, which means that you do not necessarily have to be drunk to be charged with DUI. However, that limit only applies to drivers 21 years of age and older.
For anyone under 21, you cannot operate a motor vehicle and have a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher. This is due to Alabama’s Zero Tolerance Law, which makes it illegal for anyone under 21 to drink any amounts of alcohol at all while operating a motor vehicle.
Sometimes workers that are under 21 must sell or serve alcohol to patrons. For bartenders, you must be at least 19 years old to serve alcohol in a restaurant or bar. If you work in a grocery or convenience store that sells alcohol, the legal age is 16 for selling unopened alcohol containers, but a supervisor of at least 19 years of age must be present.
Under Alabama’s open container laws, it is illegal to have an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. The only place in a vehicle this is permitted in Alabama is if the alcohol is in the trunk where it cannot be used by the driver or passengers. There are some counties in Alabama that are considered “dry”, which means that no alcohol may be served, produced or sold in stores and restaurants.
The penalties in Alabama for violating an alcohol law are serious. Upon conviction of a DUI, a person will lose their license for 90 days for a first time offense, and that number continues to climb for each DUI offense. That’s why you need qualified DUI defense attorney Whitney A. Polson to represent you!